Saints & Sinners

 

I read a post on FB  a few days ago where a friend wrote “I’d rather laugh with the sinners, than cry with the saints.” It’s sad when Christians behave in a manner that leaves a bad taste in a lost soul’s mouth. I can’t say that I blame my friend for felling this way. I live in a place where 99.9% of the community proclaim to be Christians. But the real truth is in the words they say and how they treat others. I have been hurt more by Christians than sinners all together…I would much rather hang out with a bunch of sinners than hang out at the local Baptist church where I am judged of what I wear as soon as I walk in the door. You are probably saying “Do what???” Yes, you heard me right. Do you want to know why? Because I understand them…been there, done that, got a t-shirt that says it! I know what it is like to be judged by other Christians by my flesh and not by my spirit. According to scripture, we are supposed to judge the spirits in people and we are responsible to pray and help them to realize the issue if we truly love Christ we would do that for our brothers and sisters. At one point in my life, I was very ashamed to say “I am a Christian.” Not because I was ashamed of Christ, but because I was ashamed to even be associated with the Christians I knew. Now I call myself a follower of Christ the Messiah, and as a follower I take full responsibilities of my actions. I can honestly say- I AM NOT PERFECT! I have lived in the illusion and did not even know that I was. The church taught me that once I was saved by grace that I could do whatever I wanted…what a deception and lie! God was quick to show me the truth and where I was failing-by not indulging into the book and finding out the answers for myself. It was through many trials and tribulations that drew me closer to him. It didn’t take me going to church every Sunday to develop and learn life’s lesson from God. My dad always told me that it seemed like I always had to learn things the hard way…I never listened to anyone else, and wanted to do things my way. In so many ways, I am so thankful that I was that way….it has helped me to become the warrior that I am today. A young lady came to me with some very private confessions about her life once and I was there to tell her about Christ. She said to me “Selena, you are different from all the other Christians. Why is that?” I looked at her and said “Because I am transparent, I know what you are going through. I have been there. Besides, Who AM I to judge? I am no one!” I am no better than anyone else in this world. The only difference between her and I was at the time she was not a follower. Now, 2 years later, she has given her life to Christ. If I can be one positive person in someone’s life and show love, compassion and humility without judgement, then I am sure all Christians have the same capability. Does this mean running around with sinners and partaking in their ways? No. Does this mean loving them and counseling them without judgement, gossiping and slandering? Yes. This world that we live in is hard enough as it is. Our hearts should break for the people that do not know the love of God. I want to be the light of goodness in people’s lives if that’s all that I ever do on this earth. I refuse to be in the midst of hypocritical church going people who live in abomination everyday and then turn around to persecute the lost.

Yeshua reminded me that many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.” He reminded me that the thief on the cross whose life of service was limited to a moment of repentance and confession of faith in Christ, received the same power to enter heaven as any other believer. Christians should remember that holier than thou attitudes does nothing but leave a bad taste in everyone’s mouth. It is called luke warm church in the eyes of the most high. Now is the time to be humbled and have compassion for people. Now is the time to live out our calling and bring others to the cross, to Jesus, to the truth of salvation. It is time to rededicate our lives and stop warming the church pews!

(excerpt from journal entry date: 11.30.12)

Leave a comment